About ESC

The APPLAuSE External Supervisory Committee is composed by three specialists in the different fields of study included in the program (see below).

The committee meets annually to discuss with the APPLAuSE Governing Board, and every two years there is an official visit to Instituto Superior Técnico. This includes personal interviews with the students, teachers and supervisors, visit to the facilities and lectures.

The first official meeting of the Committee took place on November 24-26, 2015. See the complete meeting agenda  here.



See more pictures here.

External Supervisory Committee


Prof. Steve C. Cowley
Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, UK

Chief Executive Officer, UK Atomic Energy Authority

Professor, Department of Physics, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine


Prof. Mark J. Kushner
University of Michigan, USA

George I Haddad Collegiate Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Dept.

Professor, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Dept., Applied Physics Program, Chemical Engineering Dept.

Director, Michigan Institute for Plasma Science and Engineering

Director, Graduate Certificate Program in Plasma Science and Engineering

Director, Dept. of Energy Center on Control of Plasma Kinetics


Prof. Peter A. Norreys
University of Oxford / Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Professor of Inertial Fusion Science, Clarendon Laboratory, University of Oxford

Individual Merit Fellow, Science & Technology Facilities Council, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Plasma Physics Group Leader, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory


%d bloggers like this: